Malicious Links In Social Media Scam

Social media is truly a fantastic way to share funny videos, pictures, memes, enjoyable songs and more. But be careful. What may seem like fun can potentially cause you serious problems down the line. Social media scammers frequently use catchy headlines to trick you into clicking on, and sharing, apps and links. You’ll see apps that say things like “see what your friends think of you” or “who’s been visiting your Facebook page?”. These are just some classic examples.

Prior to downloading the app you’re asked to provide your Twitter or Facebook log-in details. You fill them in, and presto! Scammers now have total control over your social media account. There are other types of malicious links that can even launch spyware directly onto your computer. Spyware essentially gives scammers complete access to personal details such as log-ins and address books stored within your computer. Once they’re inside your computer, they can target your friends with more malicious links. They even have the ability to spam your social media page with fake ads in an attempt to trick people with additional scams.

The moral of the story is to beware of blindly clicking on shortened URLs. You’ll see them everywhere but you have to remember that you never know where they’re going to lead you since you’re clicking on a shortened link. You can avoid this headache and hassle if you take security precautions ahead of time, such as using antivirus and anti-spyware protection software. Also, another even simpler way to avoid getting scammed is to just not click on any shady links, allowing you to be able to surf the web in confidence.

Leave a Reply